India silenced the critics by winning the Test by 75 runs at Bengaluru.  Playing at his home ground, M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru KL Rahul top scored 90 runs in the first innings with nine 4’s followed by Karun Nair with three 4’s. Nathan Lyon played as the game changer and took eight wickets by giving 50 runs and India was all out at 189 in 71.2 overs. Australia managed to score 276 with Ravindra Jadeja being the game changer where he took six wickets by giving 63 runs.

At one point in time, it looked as if India will lose the match like Pune. India lost a couple of wickets quickly, and the score was 120 with a loss of 4 wickets.  KL Rahul played magnificent innings. He scored 51 runs in the second innings. The game changer was Cheteshwar Pujara, Rahane where Pujara was dropped twice and also Pujara, darned the first 100-run stand of the series with Ajinkya Rahane, leading India’s renaissance. Hazlewood became the third Australian to take more than six wickets in an innings by restricting India to 285.

In the second innings, Australia was given a target of 188 runs. At one point in time, it looked very easy for Australia to achieve it. R Ashwin was the game changer where he took six wickets and bounced back and silenced the critics and also fast bowlers like Umesh Yadav, and Ishant Sharma did a fabulous job. For the first time, fast bowlers were given credit as they do not get the credit always like the spinners.  India winded up the match in 35.4 overs by bowling all of them out for 112 with Steve Smith being the top scorer for 28 runs.

Man of the Match: KL Rahul